Clarity

It’s important to be clear in your communication. Yesterday I made a mistake for two reasons. One was my fault and the other was the fault of the person I was trying to help. The cause of the mistake was a lack of clarity. The person that I was trying to help wasn’t detailed in their expectations and I didn’t ask enough questions to allow me to fully understand what the expectations were.

Today, a similar thing happened. I was told to go to a certain building which was described as being “green” and “behind” Coits. After arriving near Coits I made a left turn that put me in a southern direction heading towards Coits. No green building in sight. I made the nearest U-turn. Now headed northbound I see the building that I am looking for…ON THE TOTALLY OPPOSITE SIDE OF THE STREET! My understanding of “behind” meant something completely different than the woman on the phone.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Your thoughts here

