I thought that I would share with you a dialogue between me and a critic concerning – well, the sovereignty of God. The responses are to a previous post entitled What Was God Thinking?

HIM – “Sin – NOT GOD – is responsible for the limitations that we experience in life. ” So the god you believe in is not all powerful?

ME – Thanks for reading this and for sharing your thoughts. I think that is a great question! Is my God all powerful? That depends on your interpretation of “all powerful”. Here’s a story. My wife and I just became new parents. Our son is one week old and he can hardly lift his head to look around at this huge world that he entered. Not bragging, but I think that I am stronger and more powerful than he is and yet, like a lot of parents, there are things that we allow our children to do. Because I allow my son to do those things, does that imply that I am weak in some way? Or that I am not stronger than my week old son?

HIM – “Because I allow my son to do those things, does that imply that I am weak in some way? Or that I am not stronger than my week old son?” It depends on your desires for your son, and whether or not you created both your son and everything else in the universe as well.

ME – Your original question had nothing to do with creativity and desires. I thought that you were questioning power. Anyway, what if my desire for my son was for him to learn that I love him and that he can trust me; that if he doesn’t trust me, but decides to disregard my advice – which would ultimately save him from suffering – then he will be subject to suffer hard consequences of his own choosing. My desires for my son – just as God desires for you and me – is good. That we enjoy life and not suffer because of it. I think that too often we confuse control with power. It’s unfortunate really.

HIM – “then he will be subject to suffer hard consequences of his own choosing.” Your metaphor falls apart here. Unless, of course, you have a dungeon in your basement. And one of the ‘consequences’ is that your son is sent down there to be tortured. You created the rules, you created the dungeon, and you made your son go there. That isn’t a direct consequence of something he has done. That is a specific punishment thought up by the you in this hypothetical.

ME – You are partially correct. I think that you are missing some really important information. Here is where having a grasp of the heart of God can help you. The dungeon was never created for my son to begin with; the garden was (Genesis 2:7-8). The dungeon was created for rebels (Matthew 25:41). Also, you fail to realize that since it was never the Father’s intention to have the son suffer in the dungeon, provision was made to restore the son to his original relationship with his Father (Romans 5:6-21).

HIM – As the father is supposed to be all powerful, a simple removal of the dungeon would make much more sense. Or never making it in the first place. I don’t know about anyone else, but I’m loathe to give my love, worship or respect to anyone who demands it with a threat of torture if I don’t.

ME – Again, you are questioning the wrong thing. Just because He doesn’t destroy the dungeon doesn’t mean that He isn’t all powerful. The dungeon isn’t created for the son in the first place (previously stated). You’ll have to read the verses which I have included in earlier post to get a better understanding. By the way, I’m on your side. I too am “loathe to give my love, worship or respect to anyone who demands it with a threat of torture if I don’t.” That’s why I love, worship, and respect Jehovah – the God of the Bible. I’m enjoying our conversation by the way. Thanks for making my day interesting! Peace and I will be praying for you. I think that you are a good dude.

Your thoughts here

